Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Dungy, Harrison Among Nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Coach Tony Dungy and wide receiver Marvin Harrison, who won the Super Bowl after the 2006 National Football League season with the Indianapolis Colts, are among 16 first-year eligible nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

There are 126 candidates for the 2014 class -- 89 players, 16 coaches and 21 contributors. The group will be trimmed to 25 in November and 15 finalists in January. Between four and seven inductees will be selected on Feb. 1, the day before the Super Bowl at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, the Pro Football Hall of Fame said in a news release last night.

Dungy became the first black coach to win a Super Bowl title when he guided the Colts to a 29-17 victory against the Chicago Bears in the title game after the 2006 season. Dungy, 57, retired in 2008 after 31 years as a coach and player in the NFL with a career coaching record of 148-78.

Harrison spent his entire playing career at the Colts, from 1996 to 2008. He caught 965 passes after Peyton Manning took over as quarterback in 1998 and ended with 1,102 catches for third on the career list in receptions and eighth in yards receiving with 14,580.

Three-time All-Pro Harrison had an NFL-record 143 catches in 2002 and totaled at least 100 catches in four straight seasons, from 1999-02.

Linebacker Derrick Brooks, 40, is also on the list of nominees for the first time. Brooks was picked in the first round of the 1995 draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, where he remained for 14 seasons until his retirement in 2008. He played under Dungy until the coach was fired by Tampa Bay in 2002 after six seasons.

More Nominees

Brooks was a member of Tampa Bay’s Super Bowl-winning team after the 2002 season and was a five-time All-Pro and a member of the NFL’s 2000s All-Decade Team.

Also among the nominees is Andre Reed, a seven-time finalist in Hall of Fame voting who was a member of the Buffalo Bills teams that lost four straight Super Bowls from 1990 to 1993.

Michael Strahan, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Will Shields, Charles Haley, Kevin Greene, Aeneas Williams and contributor Edward DeBartolo are other candidates who were finalists in 2013.

Other first-time candidates for induction are quarterback Trent Green; running backs Shaun Alexander and Warrick Dunn; linebackers Tedy Bruschi, Willie McGinest and Zach Thomas; defensive backs Rodney Harrison, Sam Madison and Patrick Surtain; offensive linemen Willie Anderson and Walter Jones, and coaches Jon Gruden and Mike Holmgren.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.