Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Former Champs Tottenham, Sevilla Win Europa League Playoffs

Former Champions Tottenham, Sevilla Win Europa League Playoffs
Tottenham Hotspur's English striker Jermain Defoe, left, shoots past Dinamo Tbilisi's Georgian defender Giorgi Gvelesiani during the UEFA Europa League play-off second leg football match between Tottenham Hotspur and Dinamo Tbilisi at White Hart Lane in north London on Aug. 29, 2013. Photographer: Adrian Dennis/AFP/Getty Images

Aug. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Tottenham Hotspur and Sevilla were among three former champions advancing to the group stage of soccer’s Europa League, while fellow two-time winner Feyenoord was eliminated.

Tottenham, which won Europe’s second-tier club competition in 1972 and 1984, beat Dinamo Tbilisi 3-0 last night to complete an 8-0 win over the two-match qualifying playoff. Sevilla, which captured back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007, routed Slask Wroclaw 5-0 for a 9-1 total victory.

Eintracht Frankfurt, the 1980 champion, beat Qarabag 2-1 to close out a 4-1 series win. Feyenoord lost 3-1 on aggregate to Russian team Kuban Krasnodar after a 2-1 home loss.

The 30 playoff winners will be joined in today’s group-stage draw in Monaco by eight automatic qualifiers and nine playoff losers from the elite Champions League.

The final club in the 48-team field is APOEL of Cyprus, which was reinstated today in a special draw of the playoff losers in place of Fenerbahce after the Turkish club was disqualified from European competition for match-fixing.

Besiktas, another Turkish team, was this morning replaced in the group-stage draw by Norway’s Tromso after the Court of Arbitration for Sport dismissed its appeal against expulsion from the Europa League because of match-fixing, UEFA said.

Fire Delay

AZ Alkmaar lost at home 2-0 to Atromitos, but moved into the group stage on the away-goals rule after an opening 3-1 victory in Greece. The game in the Netherlands was completed this morning after being suspended last night because of a fire at AZ’s stadium.

Swansea lost 2-1 at Petrolul, though secured its first Europa League group-stage appearance by a 6-3 aggregate score. Slovan Liberec wrapped up a 4-2 series win against Udinese with a 1-1 draw, while Goran Mujanovic’s stoppage-time goal gave Rijeka a 2-2 draw with Stuttgart and a 4-3 total victory.

Chornomorets Odesa beat Skenderbeu 7-6 in a penalty shootout after the teams finished 1-1, Fiorentina lost at home 1-0 to Grasshoppers, though advanced on away goals after winning the opener 2-1 in Switzerland, and Alexandru Ciucur scored in extra time to send Pandurii past Sporting Braga 2-1 on aggregate.

Anzhi Makhachkala, APOEL, Apollon, AZ Alkmaar, Bordeaux,
Chornomorets Odesa, Dinamo Zagreb, Dnipro, Dynamo Kiev,
Elfsborg, Esbjerg, Estoril, Fiorentina, Frankfurt, Freiburg,
Genk, Kuban, Lazio, Legia Warsaw, Liberec, Ludogorets, Lyon,
Maribor, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, Maccabi Haifa, Pandurii, PAOK, Pacos
Ferreira, PSV Eindhoven, Rapid Vienna, Real Betis, Rijeka,
Rubin Kazan, St. Gallen, Salzburg, Sevilla, Shakter Karagandy,
Sheriff, Standard Liege, Swansea, Thun, Tottenham, Trabzonspor,
Tromso, Valencia, Vitoria, Wigan, Zulte Waregem.

To contact the reporter on this story: Bob Bensch in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.