Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Trentin Wins 14th Stage of Tour de France Ending in Lyon

Italy’s Matteo Trentin won the 14th stage of the Tour de France in a sprint finish, while Chris Froome retained the race leader’s yellow jersey.

Trentin passed Switzerland’s Michael Albasini at the end of the 191-kilometer (119-mile) ride from Saint-Pourcain-sur-Sioule to Lyon, with Andrew Talansky of the U.S. third.

It was the Omega-Pharma team’s fourth stage victory in this year’s race. British sprinter Mark Cavendish has two of the wins, while German Tony Martin took the other in a time trial.

Froome, a Briton born in Kenya, was part of a pack finishing more than seven minutes behind Trentin. The Team Sky rider is two minutes, 28 seconds ahead of Bauke Mollema of the Netherlands, with Spain’s two-time winner Alberto Contador of the Saxo team 17 seconds further back in third.

“He’s in great shape and we can’t wait to get onto tomorrow,” Team Sky manager Dave Brailsford said of Froome in an interview with Eurosport. “We think it’s a stage that’s going to be exciting.”

Tomorrow’s 15th stage, a 242.5-kilometer mountainous ride from Givors to Mont Ventoux, is the longest of the 100th Tour.

“A climb like Mont Ventoux at the end of a 240-kilometer stage, that’s brutal,” Froome told Eurosport. “I’m expecting big gaps in the general classification tomorrow night.”

The race, which covers 3,404 kilometers, ends July 21 on the Champs Elysees in Paris.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.