Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Hoffman Joins Two-Time Amateur Champ in Making U.S. Open Field

Charley Hoffman, Rory Sabbatini and two-time U.S. Junior Amateur champion Jordan Spieth headline a group of 55 golfers who earned spots in next week’s U.S. Open through 11 sectional qualifying events.

Davis Love III, the 1997 PGA Championship winner, was among those who failed to qualify for the U.S. Open at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pennsylvania. Masters Tournament winners Mike Weir and Trevor Immelman also fell short in qualifying, as did players such as Ryo Ishikawa, Robert Allenby, Ben Curtis, Ben Crane, David Duval and Justin Leonard.

Hoffman was 11-under-par through two rounds yesterday in Columbus, Ohio, the best score among the 120 golfers competing for 15 U.S. Open spots. Sabbatini, Nicholas Thompson, David Hearn, Robert Karlsson, Brandt Jobe and Aaron Baddeley were among those who also qualified from Columbus.

Speith shot 8-under for two rounds in Dallas, tying with Matt Weibring and Edward Loar for the best qualifying score. Ryan Palmer and Zack Fisher tied at 7-under par and meet in a playoff today to determine the last of the four U.S Open berths from the Dallas sectional.

There were also sectional events held yesterday in Purchase, New York; Springfield, Ohio; Ball Ground, Georgia; Bradenton, Florida; Rockville, Maryland; Memphis, Tennessee; St. Louis; Cle Elum, Washington and Newport Beach, California.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.