Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

O’Connell to Lead Lions in Rugby Tour Opener as Warburton Rested

O’Connell to Lead Lions in Rugby Tour Opener as Warburton Rested
Paul O'Connell passes the ball during the British and Irish Lions training session held at the Aberdeen Sports Ground in Hong Kong on May 29, 2013. Photographer: David Rogers/Getty Images

May 30 (Bloomberg) -- Paul O’Connell will lead the British and Irish Lions in their rugby tour opener against the Barbarians in Hong Kong after squad skipper Sam Warburton was left out to recover from a knee injury.

Ireland lock O’Connell, who captained the combined team on its 2009 tour of South Africa, was one of six former Lions included in a 23-man roster for the June 1 game at Hong Kong Stadium. The others are Adam Jones, Mike Phillips, Jamie Roberts, Alun Wyn Jones and Jamie Heaslip.

“I’m really excited by the first selection of the tour,” Lions coach Warren Gatland said in an e-mailed statement announcing the team. “Everyone in the camp is raring to go.”

Wales flanker Warburton was rested after receiving a blow on the knee during training, the team said on its website.

The Lions, a selection of players from the U.K. and Ireland who tour every four years, are stopping off in Hong Kong for their first match in Asia on their way to Australia, where they’ll play nine matches including a three-Test series against the Wallabies.

Lions team to play Barbarians: 15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors/Scotland) 14. Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues/Wales) 13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets/Wales) 12. Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues/Wales) 11. Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors/Scotland) 10. Owen Farrell (Saracens/England) 9. Mike Phillips (Bayonne/Wales) 8. Toby Faletau (Dragons/Wales) 7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys/Wales) 6. Dan Lydiate (Dragons/Wales) 5. Paul O’Connell (Munster/Ireland, captain) 4. Richie Gray (Scotland) 3. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales) 2. Richard Hibbard (Ospreys/Wales) 1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens/England)

Replacements: 16. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers/England) 17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Ireland) 18. Matt Stevens (Saracens/England) 19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys/wales) 20. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland) 21. Conor Murray (Munster/Ireland) 22. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/Ireland) 23. George North (Scarlets/Wales)

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Dan Baynes at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.