Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Vincenzo Nibali Wins Giro d’Italia; Cavendish Takes Points Event

Cyclist Vincenzo Nibali
Italian cyclist Vincenzo Nibali wears the pink jersey as he celebrates his victory on the podium after winning the Giro d'Italia on May 25, 2013. Photographer: Luk Benies/AFP via Getty Images

Vincenzo Nibali won the Giro d’Italia cycling race for the first time after beating out competition from Rigoberto Uran and former Tour de France champion Cadel Evans.

Nibali, an Italian who rides for the Astana team, won the overall classification by 4 minutes, 43 seconds from Colombia’s Uran, with Australia’s Evans more than a minute further back. British sprinter Mark Cavendish won the mainly flat final stage, over 122 miles to Brescia, to clinch victory in the points category.

It’s a second so-called Grand Tour win for the 28-year-old Nibali, who also won the 2010 Vuelta a Espana. He was third behind Team Sky duo Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome at last year’s Tour de France. Nibali changed to the Astana team from Liquigas after last season.

Wiggins, 33, quit the 21-stage Giro before the start of the 13th stage because of a worsening chest infection. The Briton had been the pre-race favorite with several U.K. bookmakers.

Cavendish, who took the sprinters’ red jersey back from Nibali today, has also won the points classification in the other Grand Tours, the 2010 Vuelta and the 2011 Tour de France.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.