Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Trafigura Unit Puma Buys Ausfuel in Second Australian Investment

Feb. 4 (Bloomberg) -- Trafigura Beheer BV agreed through its Puma Energy unit to acquire Australian petrol station owner Ausfuel from Archer Capital and other investors to become the nation’s largest independent fuel retailer.

Buying Ausfuel, owner of the Gull, Choice and Peak service stations, gives Puma an additional 110 retail sites in Australia, the Singapore-based company said today in a statement, without disclosing the terms. Puma will pay Ausfuel about A$625 million ($652 million), said a person with knowledge of the matter.

The deal follows Puma’s purchase last month of Neumann Petroleum and its 120 petrol stations in Queensland and New South Wales states. The unit of Amsterdam-based Trafigura, the world’s third-largest independent oil trader, is making its first investments in Australia after studying the market for the last two years.

The unit, formed in 1997, has expanded to include a retail network of more than 1,300 petrol stations globally and has operations in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Latin America and Asia, Puma said last month.

Private equity firm Archer Capital bought a majority stake in Ausfuel in May 2010, Puma said.

RFC Ambrion advised Puma, while Morgan Stanley advised Archer Capital.

To contact the reporter on this story: James Paton in Sydney at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Jason Rogers at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.