Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Fort Larned, I’ll Have Another, Wise Dan Vie for Horse of Year

Breeders’ Cup Classic winner Fort Larned, Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes champion I’ll Have Another and Breeders’ Cup Mile winner Wise Dan are finalists for 2012 Horse of the Year honors.

Winners in the 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards on Jan. 19 at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Florida.

Havre de Grace became the third consecutive filly to win the award in 2011, following Zenyatta in 2010 and Rachel Alexandra in 2009.

I’ll Have Another also is vying for top 3-year-old male against Bodemeister and Union Rags, while Fort Larnet and Wise Dan are competing against Little Mike for Older Male champion.

Todd Pletcher, Bob Baffert and Dale Romans are finalists for trainer of the year and Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez and John Velazquez were nominated for top jockey.

Reddam Racing LLC, Midwest Thoroughbreds Inc. and Goldolphin Racing LLC are competing as best owner.

The finalists were nominated by 254 members of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters.

The Eclipse Awards were named after the 18th-century racehorse Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts. They are given to horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.