Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Pietersen Rested for England’s One-Day Cricket in New Zealand

Kevin Pietersen has been omitted from England’s one-day and Twenty20 cricket squads for series in New Zealand next year as the selectors “look to manage the workload of players throughout the year.”

James Anderson, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann will return to the one-day side after being rested for forthcoming matches against India. Stuart Broad is set to resume as Twenty20 captain after a heel injury.

England is scheduled to play three Twenty20 games and three one-day matches in New Zealand in February, before three Test matches in March. Before then, there are five one-day games in India.

“There are a number of players who we have decided not to select for parts of the competitive program this winter as we look to manage their workloads effectively while ensuring we remain competitive across all formats,” national selector Geoff Miller said in a statement on the England & Wales Cricket Board’s website.

After England returns from New Zealand it is scheduled to host the Black Caps and Australia at home later in the year in all three formats of the sport. There is also the Champions Trophy one-day tournament, while England will end 2013 in Australia.

One-day squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

Twenty20 squad: Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, captain), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex).

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.