Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Toronto Wins CFL’s Grey Cup at Home for First Time in 60 Years

Nov. 26 (Bloomberg) -- The Toronto Argonauts won the Canadian Football League championship in front of hometown fans for the first time in 60 years, beating the Calgary Stampeders 35-22 in the 100th Grey Cup.

Ricky Ray threw two touchdown passes and Chad Kackert finished with 198 all-purpose yards, including 133 rushing yards, to earn the game’s most valuable player award last night at the Rogers Centre in Toronto.

The Argonauts followed up a 9-9 regular season with postseason wins over Edmonton, Montreal and Calgary to capture their record-extending 16th Grey Cup and first since 2004.

Five minutes into the game, Calgary running back Jon Cornish, named the CFL’s most outstanding Canadian player three days before, had a fumble that set up Toronto’s first touchdown.

The turnover set the tone for the game as Toronto’s defense held Cornish to 57 rushing yards, sacked Calgary quarterback Kevin Glenn twice and also returned an interception for a second-quarter touchdown that put the Argos up 14-3.

Toronto quarterback Ricky Ray threw for 231 yards on the night, looking beyond receiver Chad Owens, the league’s most outstanding player. Jason Barnes and Dontrelle Inman had 125 receiving yards and Toronto’s three offensive touchdowns came from three different players.

Bright Spot

With the Argos leading 27-9 late in the third quarter, Larry Taylor had a 105-yard punt return for Calgary, only to have the touchdown disallowed due to a holding call against Raymond Keon. Although Calgary finally found the endzone thanks to Bo Levi Mitchell’s 12-yard fourth-quarter pass to Maurice Price, it was too late to keep the most successful team in Grey Cup history from its first CFL title at home since 1952.

The Canadian Football League’s rules differ slightly from the National Football League in the U.S., featuring a larger field, 12 players on the field for each team as opposed to 11, and three downs to move 10 yards instead of four attempts.

The Argonauts have been a rare bright spot among Toronto’s sports franchises. The Toronto Blue Jays of Major League Baseball last won the World Series in 1993, while the National Hockey League’s Maple Leafs haven’t won the Stanley Cup since 1967.

To contact the reporter on this story: Ari Altstedter in Toronto at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.