Chris Ashton Returns to England Rugby Lineup for Australia Test

Chris Ashton returns to the starting lineup for England’s Test match against Australia in two days at Twickenham, the Rugby Football Union said in a statement.

Ashton was suspended for last week’s 54-12 win over Fiji and takes over on right wing for Charlie Sharples, who switches to the left side in place of Ugo Monye. It’s the only change made by coach Stuart Lancaster.

Australia made four changes from the team which lost 33-6 to France last week in Paris.

Berrick Barnes replaces Mike Harris at fullback, Digby Ioane takes over for Pat McCabe on right wing, Sitaleki Timani moves into the second in place of Kane Douglas and Ben Alexander starts at tighthead prop ahead of Sekope Kapu.

England team:
     Alex Goode (Saracens), Chris Ashton (Saracens), Manu
Tuilagi (Leicester), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Charlie Sharples
(Gloucester), Toby Flood (Leicester), Danny Care (Harlequins),
Joe Marler (Harlequins), Tom Youngs (Leicester), Dan Cole
(Leicester), Tom Palmer (Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester), Tom
Johnson (Exeter), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), Thomas
Waldrom (Leicester).

     Replacements: David Paice (London Irish), David Wilson
(Bath), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Tom
Wood (Northampton), Ben Youngs (Leicester), Owen Farrell
(Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins).

Australia team:
     Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Digby Ioane (Queensland
Reds), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), Ben Tapuai (Queensland
Reds), Nick Cummins (Western Force), Kurtley Beale (Melbourne
Rebels), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Benn Robinson (NSW
Waratahs), Tatafu Polota Nau (NSW Waratahs), Ben Alexander
(Brumbies), Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs), Nathan Sharpe
(Western Force, captain), Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs), Michael
Hooper (NSW Waratahs), Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs).

     Replacements: Stephan Moore (Brumbies), James Slipper
(Queensland Reds), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Radike Samo
(Queensland Reds), Liam Gill (Queensland Reds), Brett Sheehan
(Western Force), Mike Harris (Queensland Reds), Drew Mitchell
(NSW Waratahs).
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE