Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Oakland’s Melvin Selected as MLB American League Manager of Year

Bob Melvin was honored as American League Manager of the Year after leading the Oakland Athletics back from a 13-game deficit to win the AL West division title on the final day of the Major League Baseball season.

The award is Melvin’s second. The 51-year-old won the National League Manager of the Year award in 2007 with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The A’s, with a $55 million opening-day payroll that according to USA Today ranked next-to-last among baseball’s 30 teams, trailed the Texas Rangers by 13 games on June 30. They won their last six, coming back from a 5-1 deficit in the season finale against the Rangers for a 12-5 victory to clinch the division crown.

Melvin is the first Athletics manager to win the honor since Tony La Russa in 1992. Earlier today, Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals was selected as the 2012 National League Manager of the Year.

Melvin won the award in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Buck Showalter of the Baltimore Orioles and Chicago White Sox manager Robin Ventura were the other finalists.

The rest of the BBWAA’s annual awards will be announced this week, including the AL and NL Cy Young Award winners tomorrow honoring the top pitcher in each league.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.