Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Big East to Have Two Six-Team Divisions for Football in 2013

Nov. 13 (Bloomberg) -- The Big East Conference will have two six-team divisions for the 2013 football season, which will culminate with a new league championship game.

The East Division will feature Rutgers University, Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville and South Florida. The West Division will be comprised of Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State, Southern Methodist and Temple.

In the new structure, announced by the league today, each team will play eight conference games a season, five of those against division rivals.

The Big East championship game will be played between the division champions at the home field of one of the participating schools, not a neutral site, the conference said in a statement.

Big East Commissioner Mike Aresco said the alignment probably will be re-evaluated after the 2013 season, when the U.S. Naval Academy and possibly other schools join the conference.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.