Sugar Bowl in New Orleans to Host Big 12, SEC Champions Game

The Sugar Bowl will host the post-season college football game between the Southeastern Conference and the Big 12 Conference champions.

The game will be played at the Superdome in New Orleans for 12 years, with the first matchup on Jan. 1, 2015.

“The result will be, without a doubt, one of college football’s best bowl games on an annual basis, one that brings tremendous national prestige and millions of dollars in economic impact to our city and state over the New Year’s holiday,” said Paul Hoolahan, chief executive officer of the Sugar Bowl.

The champions from the two conferences will meet unless one or both earn a spot in the four-team model to determine the national championship. If that occurs, other teams will be substituted in the Sugar Bowl. The new college football playoff system begins after the 2014 season.

“New Orleans and the Sugar Bowl are synonymous with post-season college football,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said in a statement. “We look forward to competing against the Big 12 as a new championship tradition begins on New Year’s Day.”

In the 14-year history of the BCS, the Big 12 and SEC have had at least one team ranked in the top four of the final standings 11 times. Each conference has had 14 teams in the top four of the final BCS standings, tying for the best record in the country.

SEC teams have made nine appearances in the national championship game, while Big 12 schools have made seven trips.

Champions from the two conferences have met twice in BCS bowl games since 1998, both in national championship games. In 2010, Alabama defeated Texas 37-21 in Pasadena, California, and Florida beat Oklahoma 24-14 in Miami in 2009.

“Big 12 fans can look forward to a New Year’s tradition and coming to New Orleans to support their team,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE