Teixeira, Molina Each Win Fifth Major League Baseball Gold Glove

New York Yankees’ first baseman Mark Teixeira and St. Louis Cardinals’ catcher Yadier Molina each earned their fifth Gold Glove Award for the best fielding performances in Major League Baseball.

Teixeira led qualifying first basemen in voting by managers and coaches with a career-best .999 fielding percentage. He committed one error in 1,055 chances last season.

“There are a lot of great first basemen in the American League and I will continue to work hard to stay on top of my game defensively,” said Teixeira, who also won in 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2010.

Yankee teammate Robinson Cano finished second in the league with a .992 fielding percentage while making six errors to earn his second career Gold Glove.

“My defense is something I take a lot of pride in,” said Cano, who won his first Gold Glove in 2010. “There are a lot of ways you can contribute to a team win. It’s not always about offense. Sometimes saving runs is as important as scoring runs.”

Molina, whose team went to the National League Championship Series this year, is one of six catchers to win at least five Gold Gloves: Ivan Rodriguez (13), Johnny Bench (10), Bob Boone (7), Jim Sundberg (6) and Bill Freehan (5).

“It’s nice to be voted as a top player at your position,” Molina said.

Orioles Trio

The Baltimore Orioles had three winners: catcher Matt Wieters, shortstop J.J. Hardy and centerfielder Adam Jones.

Hardy, one of nine first-time winners, made six errors in 158 games to lead the AL in fielding percentage.

Wieters was recognized for throwing out 39 percent of potential base-stealers even though he led AL catchers with 10 errors.

Jones, who captured his second Gold Glove, had 32 home runs and 82 runs batted in for the Orioles.

Jake Peavy of the Chicago White Sox and Jeremy Hellickson of the Tampa Bay Rays shared the AL pitcher’s award. Peavy had an 11-12 record, while Hellickson had a 10-11 record.

Rounding out the AL Gold Gloves were Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre, a four-time recipient; Kansas City Royals left-hander Alex Gordon (2); and Oakland Athletics right-fielder Josh Reddick.

NL Winners

In the National League, Pittsburgh center fielder Andrew McCutchen and San Diego third baseman Chase Headley were first-time winners, while Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins and Miami Marlins pitcher Mark Buehrle picked up their fourth Gold Gloves.

“With a whole new group of managers voting for you, it wasn’t like it was handed to you,” said Buehrle, who ended the season 13-13. “This one means a lot because switching leagues, it was different managers voting on it. I had to do my job to earn it.”

Other first-time NL winners were Washington first baseman Adam LaRoche, Chicago Cubs second baseman Darwin Barney and Atlanta right fielder Jason Heyward.

Rounding out the NL was Colorado Rockies leftfielder Carlos Gonzalez, who got a $25,000 bonus for his win, according to the Associated Press.

Beltre got a $100,000 bonus and Hardy received $75,000, AP said. Gordon, LaRoche, Molina, Peavy and Rollins each were given $50,000; and Jones and McCutchen got $25,000 apiece.

In addition, Gordon’s salaries for 2014 and 2015 increased by $250,000 a year to $10.25 million and $12.75 million, the AP said. His 2016 player option also rises by $250,000 to $12.75 million.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE