Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

West Indies Advances Over Ireland at Cricket’s World Twenty20

Sept. 25 (Bloomberg) -- West Indies reached the last eight of the World Twenty20 cricket competition after its final group game against Ireland was abandoned because of rain.

Ireland, sent in to bat in Colombo, Sri Lanka, scored 129-6 in yesterday’s Group B match that was originally reduced to 19 overs per side after rain. West Indies was unable to bat because of more showers and the umpires called the game off.

The Caribbean team and Ireland finished with one point each, though West Indies advances to the Super Eight stage with group winner Australia because it has a superior net run rate to the Irish, who exit the 12-nation tournament. West Indies next plays defending champion England on Sept. 27 in Pallekele.

“This is the Super Eight and they are very important games but we do fancy our chances,” West Indies captain Darren Sammy told Sky Sports. “A strong point for us is the belief we have in the dressing room that once we play to our full potential the quality we have we could go all the way. But we have got to take it one game at a time.”

India, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka have also advanced. Pakistan and Bangladesh meet today in a Group D match in Pallekele to decide the remaining berth.

The competition, typically held every two years, is the international championship of Twenty20, cricket’s newest and shortest format. The tournament starts with four groups of three teams, followed by a Super Eight phase, semifinals and final. India secured the inaugural title in 2007 before Pakistan won in 2009 and England took the third edition in 2010.

The Super Eight stage consists of two groups of four, with teams playing each other once and the top two in each group progressing to the semifinals. The final is scheduled Oct. 7 in Colombo.

England, West Indies, Sri Lanka and New Zealand make up one group, with India, Australia, South Africa and Pakistan or Bangladesh in the other.

To contact the reporter on this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty in London at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.