Ontario Voters Deny Liberals Majority Government

Ontario’s Liberal government under Premier Dalton McGuinty missed an opportunity to obtain a majority of seats in the provincial legislature after they failed to sweep two by-elections.

While the Liberals easily retained the Toronto-area district of Vaughan, they failed to pick up the district of Kitchener-Waterloo, finishing in third place. The seat was won by the New Democratic Party, who took it from the Progressive Conservatives, according to results posted on the Elections Ontario website.

The result means that McGuinty’s Liberals will continue to need support from some opposition members in order to pass laws. Finance Minister Dwight Duncan presented a plan in March to eliminate a C$15.2 billion ($15.5 billion) deficit by the year beginning April 2017, and the province had its debt rating cut to Aa2 by Moody’s Investors Service in April.

Liberal Steven Del Duca kept the Vaughan district with 51 percent of the vote, with Conservative Tony Genco taking 33 percent.

In the Kitchener district, southwest of Toronto, Catherine Fife of the NDP took about 40 percent of the vote, compared with 31 percent for the Conservatives and 24 percent for the Liberals.

With the results, the Liberals still have 53 seats in the 107-seat legislature, one short of a majority. The Conservatives now have 36 seats and the NDP have 18.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE