Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Argentina, South Africa Name Teams for Rugby Championship Game

Aug. 22 (Bloomberg) -- Argentina made one starting change for its home debut in the Rugby Championship against South Africa, which brings two new players into its team.

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan named Martin Rodriguez to replace Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino at full-back for the Aug. 25 match at the Estadio Malvinas Argentinas in Mendoza, the Argentine rugby union said on its website. Phelan will name his reserves bench tomorrow.

Argentina, which joined Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in an expanded southern hemisphere rugby championship this year, opened its campaign with a 27-6 defeat to the Springboks in Cape Town four days ago.

Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer made two changes, and one position shift, from last week, the South Africa Rugby Union said on its website.

Adriaan Strauss replaces injured Bismarck du Plessis at hooker and Jacques Potgieter takes over at blindside flanker, with Willem Alberts moving to No. 8 and Keegan Daniel going to the bench.

Bryan Habana, the most experienced member of the squad with 78 Test caps, will start at wing after passing a fitness test. He injured his left ankle in last week.

     ARGENTINA: Martin Rodriguez, Gonzalo Camacho, Marcelo
Bosch, Santiago Fernandez, Horacio Agulla, Juan Martin
Hernandez, Nicolas Vergallo, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe
(captain), Alvaro Galindo, Julio Farias Cabello, Patricio
Albacete, Manuel Carizza, Juan Figallo, Eusebio Guinazu, Rodrigo

     SOUTH AFRICA: Zane Kirchner, Bryan Habana, Jean de Villiers
(captain), Francois Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo, Morne Steyn, Francois
Houggard, Willem Alberts, Jacques Potgieter, Marcell Coetzee,
Andries Bekker, Eben Etzebeth, Jannie du Plessis, Adriaan
Strauss, Tendai Mtawarira.

     Substitutes: Tiaan Liebenberg, Pat Cilliers, Flip van der
Merwe, Keegan Daniel, Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie, JJ Engelbrecht.

To contact the reporter on this story: Dan Baynes at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.