Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

England Leaves Pietersen Out of World Twenty20 Cricket Squad

July 18 (Bloomberg) -- England left Kevin Pietersen out of a provisional 30-man squad for cricket’s ICC World Twenty20 competition in Sri Lanka in September.

In May, the batsman withdrew from playing in shorter forms of the game for England to focus on Tests.

He wanted to carry on with Twenty20 matches while not playing for England in 50-over games, but national selectors said that wasn’t possible under the terms of his contract.

Pietersen has expressed his interest in playing at the world event, where No. 1 ranked England is defending its title, and there’d been speculation that a compromise might be reached to allow him to take part.

Surrey off-spinner Gareth Batty, Yorkshire batsman Joe Root and Test wicketkeeper Matt Prior are among those selected.

England provisional squad:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) (capt.), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Gareth Batty (Surrey), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Scott Borthwick (Durham), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Croft (Lancashire), Steven Davies (Surrey), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Peter-Joseph Hegarty at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.