Verlander, Cain Picked as Starting All-Star Game Pitchers

Justin Verlander
Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers pitches against the Pittsburgh Pirates in Pittsburgh on June 24, 201. Photographer: Jared Wickerham/Getty Images

Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers and Matt Cain of the San Francisco Giants were picked as the starting pitchers for tomorrow night’s Major League Baseball All-Star Game.

R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets, tied for the major-league lead in wins, was among those bypassed by National League manager Tony La Russa for the starting role.

Verlander is 9-5 with 128 strikeouts and a 2.58 earned run average this year. Cain, who pitched a perfect game for the Giants this season, is 9-3 with 118 strikeouts and a 2.62 ERA.

Dickey, a 37-year-old knuckleball specialist, is 12-1 and tied with the Washington Nationals’ Gio Gonzalez for the most wins in the majors. He has a 2.40 ERA and 123 strikeouts.

While Dickey hasn’t pitched since July 5, La Russa said last week he was leaning against starting the Mets’ right-hander because of the difficulty a knuckleball can cause a catcher who isn’t used to handling the floating pitch. The NL’s starting catcher as voted by fans is Cain’s San Francisco teammate, Buster Posey.

The game between Verlander’s American League team and Cain’s NL squad is set for Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City, Missouri.

Batting Orders

The National League batting order will be Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies, designated hitter: Melky Cabrera of the Giants, center field; Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers, left field; Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds, first base; Carlos Beltran of the St. Louis Cardinals, right field; Posey; Pablo Sandoval of the Giants, third base; Dan Uggla of the Atlanta Braves; second base; and Rafael Furcal of the Cardinals, shortstop.

For the American League, it’s Derek Jeter of the New York Yankees, shortstop; Robinson Cano of the Yankees, second base; Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers, center field; Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays, right field; Prince Fielder of the Tigers, first base; Adrian Beltre of the Rangers, third base; David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox, designated hitter; Mike Napoli of the Rangers, catcher; and Curtis Granderson of the Yankees, center field.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE