Northwestern Wins Seventh Women’s Lacrosse Title in Eight Years

May 28 (Bloomberg) -- Northwestern University won its seventh women’s college lacrosse championship in eight years with an 8-6 victory over Syracuse University.

Taylor Thornton and Erin Fitzgerald scored goals for Northwestern to snap a 6-6 tie and the Wildcats held Syracuse scoreless for the final 11 minutes of the second half yesterday in Stony Brook, New York.

Shannon Smith finished with two goals and two assists for Northwestern (21-2), which captured its second straight title after winning five in a row from 2005-2009. The Wildcats lost to the University of Maryland in the 2010 championship game.

Maryland will play for the men’s lacrosse title today, when the unseeded Terrapins face top-ranked Loyola University of Maryland. Loyola defeated Notre Dame 7-5 and Maryland upset third-seeded Duke 16-10 in their National Collegiate Athletic Association semifinals to reach the final at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Erik Matuszewski at