Russia Sent Aid to Nauru, Nicaragua After Ossetia’s Recognition

Russia extended financial aid to Nicaragua and Nauru, two of the nations that recognized the Georgian separatist region of South Ossetia, according to the Finance Ministry.

Nicaragua and Nauru, a Pacific island nation, joined Kyrgyzstan in sharing $50 million in funds Russia allocated in 2010 for improvements in health care, infrastructure and education, the ministry said in a presentation distributed to reporters in Moscow today.

Recognition of South Ossetia’s independence was one of “numerous factors” that influenced the decision to disburse aid, Deputy Finance Minister Sergei Storchak said. “We weren’t pursuing any political goals in providing assistance.”

South Ossetia and Abkhazia, another separatist region, declared independence after a five-day war between Russia and the former Soviet republic of Georgia in August 2008. U.S. ally Georgia maintains Russia occupied the two regions after the conflict. Russia established diplomatic ties with Tuvalu last September.

Tuvalu, formerly known as the Ellice Islands, is a nation of about 12,000 people located midway between Hawaii and Australia. It’s a constitutional monarchy that comprises four reef islands and five coral atolls.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE