Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Ex-Miami Coach Johnson Voted Into College Football Hall of Fame

National championship-winning coaches Jimmy Johnson and Phil Fulmer are among 17 inductees to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former Brigham Young University quarterback Ty Detmer, the 1990 Heisman Trophy winner as college football’s best player, is also in the Hall of Fame’s class of 2012, along with former Syracuse University wide receiver Art Monk.

Johnson, 68, coached at Oklahoma State from 1979 to 1983 and the University of Miami from 1984 to 1988, compiling an 81-34-3 record. He went 52-9 in five seasons with the Hurricanes and led Miami to a 12-0 season and the 1987 national championship before coaching in the National Football League.

“People for years have asked me to compare coaching in professional football and coaching in college football,” Johnson said at a news conference in New York. “While winning back-to-back Super Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys was rewarding, the most fun I had in football was in college.”

Fulmer, 61, had a 152-52 record as the University of Tennessee’s coach from 1992 to 2008 and led the Volunteers to the first Bowl Championship Series title in 1998.

Former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum was also selected to the Hall of Fame, while others in this year’s class include Louisiana State tailback Charles Alexander, Purdue halfback Otis Armstrong and California quarterback Steve Bartkowski.

Also selected were University of Southern California split end Hal Bedsole, Notre Dame tight end Dave Casper, Rice quarterback Tommy Kramer, Colorado State defensive back Greg Myers, UCLA offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden, Texas Tech defensive tackle Gabe Rivera, Kansas State linebacker Mark Simoneau and Air Force safety Scott Thomas. Colorado offensive lineman John Wooten was a selection of the Hall of Fame’s veterans committee.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.