Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Spurs’ Popovich Voted NBA’s Coach of Year After 50-Win Season

Don't Miss Out —
Follow us on:
Head Coach Gregg Popovich
Gregg Popovich Head Coach of the San Antonio game looks on at the game against the Sacramento Kings on April 19, 2012 at Power Balance Pavilion in Sacramento, California. Photographer: Noah Graham/NBAE via Getty Images

May 1 (Bloomberg) -- Gregg Popovich was voted the National Basketball Association’s Coach of the Year after leading the San Antonio Spurs to a 50-16 record this season, tied with the Chicago Bulls for the most wins in the league during the lockout-shortened regular season.

It’s the second such award for Popovich, who is in his 16th season in San Antonio and is the longest tenured coach with the same team in the four major U.S. professional sports. He also earned the honor in 2002-03.

Popovich received 77 of the 119 first-place votes from a panel of North American sportswriters and broadcasters. Bulls coach Tom Thibodeau finished second with 27 first-place votes.

San Antonio is in the postseason for the 15th straight year under Popovich, the longest active streak in the NBA.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.