Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Member of White House Council of Economic Advisers Said to Leave

April 30 (Bloomberg) -- Carl Shapiro, one of three members of the White House Council of Economic Advisers, is leaving his position soon to return to teaching at the University of California at Berkeley, an administration official said.

Shapiro took a sabbatical to work at the White House for approximately three years and that period is coming to an end, according to the official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because the departure hasn’t been announced.

Shapiro had been a member of Berkeley’s faculty since 1990, most recently as the Transamerica Professor of Business Strategy at the Haas School of Business and professor of economics, according to the university’s website.

He also served as deputy assistant attorney general for economics at the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice from 2009 to 2011, according to the website.

The job of the council, created by Congress in 1946, is to give the president objective analysis of domestic and international economic policy. The chairman is Alan Krueger, an economics professor from Princeton University. The other member is Katharine Abraham, who is on leave from the University of Maryland.

Selections for the council are subject to Senate confirmation.

To contact the reporter on this story: Kate Andersen Brower in Washington at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Steven Komarow at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.