Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Dylan, Glenn, Peres Among Obama Medal of Freedom Picks

Music icon Bob Dylan, former astronaut and Ohio Senator John Glenn and Israeli President Shimon Peres are among 13 men and women President Barack Obama has chosen to receive the Medal of Freedom.

The awards were announced today and will be presented in the late spring, the White House said in a statement.

Former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, author Toni Morrison and former Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens also are among those being honored for “especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

Other recipients include John Doar, a lawyer who played key roles in the civil rights era and Watergate investigation; epidemiologist William Foege; farmworker organizer Dolores Huerta; and Pat Summitt, the former University of Tennessee women’s basketball coach and Alzheimer’s patient advocate whose award was announced earlier this month by the White House.

Posthumous honorees include Girl Scouts founder Juliette Gordon Low; Jan Karski, who gave eyewitness accounts of the Holocaust to government officials; and Gordon Hirabayashi, who protested Japanese-American internment during World War II.

Obama, in a statement, said the honorees have “challenged us, they’ve inspired us, and they’ve made the world a better place.”

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.