Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Brisbane Beats Perth to Win Back-to-Back A-League Titles

April 23 (Bloomberg) -- Brisbane Roar rallied to beat Perth Glory 2-1 with a stoppage-time penalty to become the first team to win back-to-back Australian A-League soccer championships.

Besart Berisha tied the game with a header on 84 minutes, then scored from the spot after referee Jarred Gillett ruled he had been tripped in the penalty area.

“It looked to me that it was an air swing, he loses his balance and goes down,” Perth coach Ian Ferguson, a former Scotland midfielder, told Fox Sports. “It absolutely killed us, there was no way back.”

The Glory had led last night at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium on an own goal by Ivan Franjic after 52 minutes.

Brisbane becomes the first team to successfully defend its title since the A-League replaced Australia’s National Soccer League in 2005. The Roar joins Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC as two-time champions.

“This team never gives up,” Brisbane captain Matt Smith said at the presentation ceremony.

The Glory, owned by Cape Lambert Resources Ltd. Executive Chairman Tony Sage, had advanced to their first A-League final by beating the Central Coast Mariners, who topped the regular-season standings.

To contact the reporter on this story: Dan Baynes in Sydney at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.