Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Connecticut Reaches Seventh Straight Women’s NCAA Regional Final

March 26 (Bloomberg) -- The University of Connecticut advanced to the final eight of college basketball’s national women’s tournament for the seventh straight year, while the University of Maryland ousted defending champion Texas A&M.

Connecticut beat Penn State 77-59 yesterday in Kingston, Rhode Island, to advance to tomorrow’s regional final against the University of Kentucky, which defeated Gonzaga 79-62.

Bria Hartley scored 20 points, Kelly Faris added 15 and UConn’s defense contained a Penn State team that had averaged 87.5 points in its first two tournament games. The Huskies improved to 32-4 on the season.

Maryland rallied from an 18-point first-half deficit to beat Texas A&M 81-74 in the Raleigh, North Carolina, regional. Laurin Mincy and Alyssa Thomas each scored 21 points for the Terrapins (31-4), who will face top-seeded Notre Dame (33-3) tomorrow for a trip to the Final Four.

Notre Dame routed St. Bonaventure 79-35 yesterday.

Top-seeded Baylor University (37-0) plays No. 2 Tennessee (27-8) tonight in the regional final in Des Moines, Iowa.

Stanford University (34-1), the top seed in the Fresno, California, regional, faces No. 2 Duke (27-7) in tonight’s other game for a spot in the Final Four.

To contact the reporter on this story: Erik Matuszewski in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.