Reyna, Meola Among Four Elected to National Soccer Hall of Fame

Former U.S. men’s national team members Claudio Reyna and Tony Meola were among four people elected today to the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Both in their first year of eligibility, Reyna was named on 96 percent of ballots and Meola was named on 90 percent, according to the U.S. Soccer website. Former women’s national team coach Tony DiCicco and men’s player Desmond Armstrong were also elected.

“Soccer has been my life from the moment I could walk,” Reyna, 38, said on the website. “From a player’s standpoint, it kind of caps things off for me, so it’s definitely an honor and something that I’m proud of.”

Now working as U.S. Soccer’s youth technical director, Reyna was a member of the national team from 1994 to 2006, playing in four World Cup tournaments and serving as captain in 2006. The midfielder’s club career included stints with Manchester City of the English Premier League and Major League Soccer’s New York Red Bulls.

Meola, a goalkeeper for three World Cup squads, had 37 wins and 32 shutouts for the U.S. team, second all-time to Kasey Keller. In 2000, the 43-year-old won an MLS title with the Kansas City Wizards while collecting league Most Valuable Player and Goalkeeper of the Year honors.

DiCicco coached the women’s national team to 103 victories in 119 games from 1994 to 1999, including the 1999 World Cup championship. Armstrong started 73 games with the national team from 1987-1994.

Formed in 1950, the Hall of Fame has nearly 300 members, according to the website. It closed its Oneonta, New York, facility in 2010.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE