Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Tri-Nations to Be Renamed Rugby Championship as Argentina Joins

Don't Miss Out —
Follow us on:

Nov. 8 (Bloomberg) -- The Tri-Nations will be renamed The Rugby Championship from next year as Argentina joins South Africa, New Zealand and Australia in the southern hemisphere’s annual international competition.

An agreement confirming the participation of Argentina, the only top 10-ranked team that doesn’t feature in an annual tournament, was signed in Auckland recently, South Africa, New Zealand and Australia Rugby, or SANZAR, said in a statement.

“The regular participation of Argentina at a higher level is long overdue and we are excited about their inclusion,” said SANZAR Chief Executive Officer Greg Peters. “The Pumas, as they showed at the recent Rugby World Cup, play an exciting and different brand of rugby to the other three teams, which will definitely add a new dimension.”

Australia, New Zealand and South Africa have faced each other in an annual series since 1996, with the top-ranked All Blacks winning 10 of the 16 editions. The Wallabies won their first Tri-Nations title since 2001 in August by beating New Zealand in the final match.

The 2012 tournament will start Aug. 18 and conclude Oct. 6 with the four teams playing each other home-and-away over 12 matches. Fixtures have been scheduled in two-week blocks with weeklong travel byes in between to “ensure there is adequate recovery time for the teams,” Peters said.

Argentina’s inclusion “ensures a more logical and balanced championship with fixtures and travel evened out across the region,” Jurie Roux, CEO of the South African Rugby Union, said in the statement.

Wait on Venues

While Australia and New Zealand have their venues set for the inaugural edition, locations for the matches in South Africa and Argentina will be confirmed at a later date.

SANZAR said a delegation will travel to Argentina this month to inspect venues and hold talks with the Argentine Rugby Union, host broadcasters and other stakeholders “to ensure the smooth transition from Tri-Nations to The Rugby Championship.”

Argentina, whose top players are typically contracted to European clubs, had been pushing for inclusion in an elite international tournament since finishing third at the 2007 World Cup. The Pumas lost to eventual champion New Zealand last month in the quarterfinals of the 2011 edition.

“Playing in The Rugby Championship makes us really proud and will compel us to work harder at what we are doing,” said Manuel Galindo, the Argentine Rugby Union’s high performance chairman. “We must celebrate being part of this tournament.”


Aug. 18
Australia vs New Zealand     ANZ Stadium, Sydney
South Africa vs Argentina    To Be Confirmed

Aug. 25
New Zealand vs Australia     Eden Park, Auckland
Argentina vs South Africa    To Be Confirmed

Sept. 1
Travel Bye

Sept. 8
Australia vs South Africa    Patersons Stadium, Perth
New Zealand vs Argentina     Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Sept. 15
Australia vs Argentina       Skilled Park, Gold Coast
New Zealand vs South Africa  Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Sept. 22
Travel Bye

Sept. 29
South Africa vs Australia     To Be Confirmed
Argentina vs New Zealand      To Be Confirmed

Oct. 6
South Africa vs New Zealand   To Be Confirmed
Argentina vs Australia        To Be Confirmed

To contact the reporter on this story: Dan Baynes in Sydney at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Christopher Elser at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.