Dodgers, Boston Red Sox Each Have Three Gold Glove Recipients

The Los Angeles Dodgers and Boston Red Sox each earned three Gold Gloves, while nine players became first-time recipients of the award for defensive play.

Clayton Kershaw, Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier won for the Dodgers, the first time the National League team produced three winners in a year.

Dustin Pedroia, Adrian Gonzalez and Jacoby Ellsbury are the first three Boston players to win the accolade in the same year since Rick Burleson, Dwight Evans and Fred Lynn achieved the feat for the Red Sox in 1979, Major League Baseball said on its website last night.

Managers and coaches vote annually for the best fielding performances at each position in the National and American Leagues.

Yadier Molina of the World Series champion St. Louis Cardinals won the NL catcher award for the fourth straight year, while Matt Wieters of the Baltimore Orioles claimed his first award as Molina’s AL counterpart.

Mark Buehrle became the first pitcher in Chicago White Sox history to win three Gold Gloves and the only player from the club to claim three straight since Robin Ventura from 1991-93.

Other winners included Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips, shortstop Troy Tulowitzki of the Colorado Rockies, Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre and Philadelphia Phillies third baseman Placido Polanco.

Among first-time winners were left fielder Alex Gordon of the Kansas City Royals, right fielder Nick Markakis of the Orioles and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Erick Aybar, who unseated the New York Yankees’ Derek Jeter, winner in five of the past seven years in the AL.

In the NL, Arizona Diamondbacks left fielder Gerardo Parra and Reds first baseman Joey Votto won for the first time.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE