Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Nokia Promotes Tirri to Chief Technology Officer as Green Leaves

Nokia Oyj Chief Technology Officer Henry Tirri
Nokia Oyj chief technology officer Henry Tirri. Source: Nokia Oyj via Bloomberg

Nokia Oyj, the Finnish maker of mobile phones, named Henry Tirri as chief technology officer and member of the leadership team starting today.

Tirri, who reports directly to Chief Executive Officer Stephen Elop, took over the duties in June when Rich Green went on leave for personal reasons. Green, who became chief technology officer in May 2010, has left the company, Espoo, Finland-based Nokia said today in a statement.

“Henry has provided Nokia technical leadership and challenged us to explore forward-looking technologies,” Elop said in the statement. Tirri “will have the opportunity to make a greater impact and set the course for Nokia and our role in the mobile industry.”

Nokia is readying a line of phones based on Microsoft Corp.’s Windows Phone 7 operating system to replace the company’s own Symbian line, which is losing out to Apple Inc.’s iPhone and Android handsets based on Google Inc.’s system. Nokia targets the fourth quarter for the first Windows handset.

Nokia fell as much as 3.6 percent to 4.04 euros in Helsinki trading, and was down 2.9 percent at 10:12 a.m. local time.

Tirri will be based in Sunnyvale, California. He previously led the Nokia Research Center in nearby Palo Alto.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.