Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

England Defeats India in Rain-Shortened One-Day Cricket Match

England beat India by six wickets in a rain-shortened one-day international cricket match in Cardiff, sending the visitors home at the end of their tour without a win against the hosts.

India set a target of 305, but rain cut England’s innings to 34 overs, reducing the target to 241 under the Duckworth-Lewis rules used for weather-shortened matches. The hosts achieved it with 10 balls remaining.

Ravi Bopara and Jonny Bairstow, a 21-year-old making his debut, combined for 75 runs from 40 balls to push England to victory. Bairstow hit three sixes while reaching 41 unbeaten. Bopara was 37 not out. Jonathan Trott lead England with 63.

India got 107 runs from Virat Kohli as they reached 304-6, their highest run total on the current tour, in their 50 overs. India was looking to get its first victory over England on this visit.

Kohli had nine fours and one six before he was bowled by Graeme Swann, who took three wickets. Rahul Dravid reached 69 and MS Dhoni was 50 unbeaten. The start of today’s match was delayed by rain in Cardiff.

It was the final match in India’s tour. England already clinched victory in the five-match series with a draw at Lord’s in London.

The hosts won two straight weather-shortened one-day games after the series opener was rained out. England swept a four-match Test series and the sole Twenty20 match.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.