Danish Social Democrat-led Opposition Wins Election

Denmark’s the Social Democrat-led opposition bloc defeated the Liberal-Conservative government and its allies, according to a count of 99.1 percent of the votes by broadcaster Danmarks Radio.

The opposition, led by Social Democrat Helle Thorning-Schmidt, unseated a coalition headed by Prime Minister Lars Loekke Rasmussen and supported by the Danish People’s Party and the Liberal Alliance.

The following is a list of the number of seats in parliament each party would win if the count is confirmed by the final result. There are 179 seats in the parliament. Four of those are reserved for lawmakers in Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

                             Count          Change from 2007
Opposition alliance:         89
Social Democrats             44             -1
Socialist People’s Party     16             -7
Social Liberals              17             +8
Red Green Alliance           12             +8
Government and supporters:   86
Liberal Party                47             +1
Conservative Party            8            -10
Danish People’s Party        22             -3
Liberal Alliance              9             +4

                            Count          2007 Result
Opposition alliance:
Social Democrats            24.9%          25.5%
Socialist People’s Party     9.2%          13.0%
Social Liberals              9.5%          5.1%
Red Green Alliance           6.7%          2.2%
Government and supporters:
Liberal Party               26.7%          26.2%
Conservative Party           4.9%          10.4%
Danish People’s Party       12.3%          13.9%
Liberal Alliance             5.0%           2.8%
Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE