Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Aramco, Shell Appoint CEO for Gas Venture in Saudi Arabia

South Rub Al Khali Co., a joint venture between Royal Dutch Shell Plc and Saudi Arabian Oil Co., named a chief executive to run the company that explores for natural gas in Saudi Arabia.

SRAK, a 50-50 venture, appointed Saleh Al-Dawas as CEO, a company spokesman said in an e-mail. Al-Dawas replaces Kamal al-Yahya, who retired in July.

SRAK is one of four ventures exploring for gas in the Rub Al Khali desert in Saudi Arabia, which holds the fifth-largest gas reserves in the world. The venture is the only one of the four to announce a “promising” discovery.

The venture is expected to complete its second exploration for natural gas in Saudi Arabia’s southern Rub Al Khali desert in 2015. It’s currently drilling in the greater Kidan area near the Saudi border with the United Arab Emirates.

Before taking his new role at SRAK last month, al-Dawas was manager of the Production and Facilities Development Department at Saudi Aramco since May 2006. SRAK said today in an e-mail that he has 33 years of industry experience working in various areas of the Saudi Aramco upstream organization.

Al-Dawas graduated from the King Fahad University of Petroleum and Minerals in 1979 with a degree in petroleum engineering and was a board member of EniRepsa Gas Ltd., one of four gas exploration ventures in Saudi Arabia. The venture is owned by Italy’s Eni SpA, Repsol YPF SA and Saudi Aramco.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.