Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

England Drops Flutey, Names Simpson for Rugby World Cup Squad

Center Riki Flutey has missed out on a place in England’s 30-man squad for the Rugby World Cup in his native New Zealand starting next month.

Flutey’s Wasps teammate Joe Simpson has made the squad, which was announced tonight by the Rugby Football Union. His call-up follows a reshuffle made necessary by an injury to scrum-half Danny Care, which put him out of the tournament.

Jonny Wilkinson is set for his fourth World Cup and scrum-half Simpson is the only uncapped player. Simon Shaw, 37, is the oldest squad member and Manu Tuilagi, 20, the youngest.

Lewis Moody will captain the side, which faces Argentina (Sept. 10), Georgia (Sept. 18), Romania (Sept. 24) and Scotland (Oct. 1) in the pool stages.

Eleven players featured in previous tournaments, five were World Cup winners in 2003, and eight appeared in the 2007 final, a 15-6 loss to South Africa.

“We think we have the right mix in this group,” England manager Martin Johnson said in a release from the RFU. “There were some very tough phone calls made last week. Everybody came into this camp and worked extremely hard and some players have just missed out.”

The tournament begins in New Zealand on Sept. 10.

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
James Haskell (Ricoh Black Rams)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
Lewis Moody (Bath Rugby)
Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
Simon Shaw (Unattached)
Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks)
Matt Stevens (Saracens)
Steve Thompson (London Wasps)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Delon Armitage (London Irish)
Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)
Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
Shontayne Hape (London Irish)
Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.