Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Santana Pitches Year’s 3rd No-Hitter as Angels Beat Indians 3-1

Ervin Santana pitched the third no-hitter of the Major League Baseball season as the visiting Los Angeles Angels beat the Cleveland Indians 3-1 today at Progressive Field.

The eighth no-hitter in Angels history follows ones by Francisco Liriano of the Minnesota Twins against the Chicago White Sox on May 3 and Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers against the Toronto Blue Jays four days later.

Santana threw 106 pitches in the 2-hour, 22-minute game, striking out a season-high 10 and walking one. The Indians’ run came in the first inning, when leadoff hitter Ezequiel Carrera reached on an error, stole second base and scored on a wild pitch. It was the first time since 1993 that the losing team in a no-hitter scored. Houston Astros pitcher Darryl Kile threw a no-hitter in a 7-1 win over the New York Mets on Sept. 8, 1993.

The Angels scored in the fifth, sixth and ninth innings. Peter Bourjos had a game-high two hits, with one run scored and a run batted in.

Santana, 28, made his major-league debut in Cleveland on May 17, 2005. He is 6-8 this season with a 3.46 earned run average. David Huff took the loss for the Indians, allowing one earned run in 5 2/3 innings.

It’s the 250th no-hitter in major-league history. Before today, there were 133 in the National League and 116 in the American League, according to baseball’s website. Twenty were perfect games.

Six No-Hitters

There were six no-hitters last season, including one by the Philadelphia Phillies’ Roy Halladay in his first postseason outing. Halladay also threw one of two perfect games during the 2010 regular season, joining Dallas Braden of the Oakland Athletics.

It’s the first no-hitter for the Angels since Mark Langston and Mike Witt combined in a 1-0 win over the Seattle Mariners on April 11, 1990. The Indians have been no-hit victims 11 times.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.