Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Request a Demo


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Eddie George, Deion Sanders Head College Football Hall Class

May 17 (Bloomberg) -- Ohio State University running back Eddie George and Florida State University defensive back Deion Sanders were among 14 former players and two former coaches named today the College Football Hall of Fame.

This year’s class, announced by the National Football Foundation at the Nasdaq MarketSite in Manhattan, also includes former University of Michigan coach Lloyd Carr. The 16 inductees were selected from 88 nominees by foundation members.

George won the Heisman Trophy as college football’s best player in 1995, when he rushed for a school-record 1,927 yards. In his four years as a Buckeye, he ran for 44 touchdowns and 3,768 yards, second only to Archie Griffin. George’s No. 27 was retired by the Buckeyes in 2001.

George has more 200-yard rushing games than any player in Ohio State history, and as a senior in 1995 set a school record with 314 yards rushing in a game against Illinois. He was the National Football League Offensive Rookie of the Year in 1996 and rushed for 10,441 yards in a nine-year professional career with two franchises.

The 43-year-old Sanders, nicknamed “Prime Time” for his flashy playmaking, was a three-sport star at Florida State, in baseball, football and track. He was a two-time All-American in four years with the Seminoles, and won the 1988 Thorpe Award in his senior season as the nation’s best defensive back.

Sanders’s 14 career interceptions are tied for third in Seminoles history, and he remains the school’s all-time leader in punt-return yards. He played 14 NFL seasons with five teams and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in February.

Big Ten

Carr, 65, was 122-40 in 13 years at Michigan. He won five Big Ten titles and the 1997 national championship, and is the sixth Wolverine coach selected for the Hall.

Former Alabama defensive tackle Marty Lyons was also chosen, along with receivers Carlos Alvarez (Florida) and Gene Washington (Michigan State); defensive tackles Doug English (Texas) and Russell Maryland (Miami); fullback Bill Enyart (Oregon State); defensive back Jake Scott (Georgia); guard Will Shields (Nebraska); quarterback Sandy Stephens (Minnesota); linebacker Darryl Talley (West Virginia); halfback Clendon Thomas (Oklahoma); and defensive lineman Rob Waldrop (Arizona). Former Air Force coach Fisher DeBerry was the elected alongside Carr.

The College Football Hall of Fame, located in South Bend, Indiana, was established in 1951 and has 1,072 inductees, including 882 players and 190 coaches. Players become eligible for the ballot 10 years after their final college season, and current professional players and coaches aren’t eligible until retirement.

This year’s class will be inducted at the football foundation’s annual awards dinner in New York on Dec. 6.

To contact the reporter on this story: Eben Novy-Williams in New York

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.