Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Singapore’s Shanmugaratnam to Head IMF Steering Committee

The International Monetary Fund said Singapore’s Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam will chair the fund’s steering committee.

Shanmugaratnam, 54, has accepted the position for up to three years, the IMF said today in an e-mailed statement. He replaces Youssef Boutros-Ghali, who stepped down last month after he was replaced as Egyptian finance minister in a Jan. 31 cabinet reshuffle amid the political unrest that then unseated President Hosni Mubarak.

Shanmugaratnam’s “broad experience, deep knowledge of economic and financial issues, and active engagement with global policy makers will be highly valuable to” the International Monetary and Financial Committee, the IMF said in the statement.

The minister served as chief executive officer of the Monetary Authority of Singapore, the city state’s central bank and regulator, before his entry into politics. He took up his current post in 2007 after being education minister.

Shanmugaratnam is currently also a member of the Group of Thirty, an international economic and monetary affairs advisory group, the IMF said.

The IMFC’s 24 members, who meet twice a year, are finance ministers and central bankers whose nationalities reflect the composition of the IMF board of executive directors. Past chairmen include Gordon Brown, who stepped down when he became U.K. prime minister in 2007.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.