Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Patriots Quarterback Tom Brady Wins His Second MVP Award

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, who led the National Football League in passer rating and touchdowns, was named the Most Valuable Player for the second time.

Brady, 33, helped the Patriots to the NFL’s best regular season record (14-2) and passed for a league-high 36 touchdowns. He received all 50 votes from a nationwide media panel and was the first unanimous choice for the award, which is presented by the Associated Press.

Brady led the league with a 111.0 passer rating, bolstered by the lowest turnover total of his 11-year career. He threw four interceptions in 492 attempts, and none in the final 11 weeks of the regular season. In that stretch Brady went 335 consecutive passes without an interception, breaking a 19-year-old record held by Bernie Kosar of the Cleveland Browns.

Brady completed 65.9 percent of his passes this year for 3,900 yards. The Patriots won the American Football Conference East division and after a first-round bye, lost at home to the New York Jets in the second round of the playoffs.

A sixth-round pick in 2000 out of University of Michigan, Brady was elected to his sixth Pro Bowl this year and earned his second first-team All-Pro selection.

New England traded seven-time Pro Bowl wide receiver Randy Moss after four games this season, and wide receiver Wes Welker, Brady’s favorite target each of the last three seasons, battled a lingering knee injury for much of the year. Both of Brady’s tight ends, Aaron Hernandez and Rob Gronkowski, were rookies and neither of the team’s two top running backs had rushed for more than 300 yards in a single season.

Brady won his first MVP in 2007, when he threw for a league-high 4,806 yards and an NFL-record 50 touchdowns. That year the Patriots were one win shy of a perfect season, falling 17-14 to the New York Giants in the Super Bowl. Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning is the only other active player to win the award more than once.

A three-time Super Bowl champion and two-time Super Bowl MVP, Brady has won his last 28 regular season home games, an NFL record. He has not lost at the Patriots’ Gillette Stadium during the regular season since a Nov. 11, 2006, a 17-14 loss to the Jets.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.