Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Vick, Brady Named Pro Bowl Starters, Atlanta Has Seven Picks

Philadelphia Eagles Quarterback Michael Vick
Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick, seen here, missed two seasons while serving prison time for his involvement in a dog-fighting ring. Photographer: Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

Dec. 29 (Bloomberg) -- Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Michael Vick was chosen to lead the National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl in his first year back in the National Football League after missing two seasons on a dog-fighting conviction.

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady was selected to start for the American Football Conference during the Jan. 30 game in Honolulu.

The Atlanta Falcons’ Matt Ryan and New Orleans Saints’ Drew Brees are backups to Vick, while Philip Rivers of the San Diego Chargers and Peyton Manning of the Indianapolis Colts will back up Brady.

Vick, whose team lost 24-14 last night to the Minnesota Vikings, missed two seasons while serving prison time for his involvement in a dog-fighting ring. Before his legal troubles, he was in three Pro Bowls with the Falcons.

Joining Vick were teammates DeSean Jackson, Jason Peters, Asante Samuel and David Akers.

The Falcons, atop the NFC with a 12-3 record, had seven players selected, and the Patriots had six players picked to play in the Pro Bowl.

The New York Jets placed three players on the Pro Bowl roster -- center Nick Mangold, offensive tackle D’Brickashaw Ferguson and cornerback Darrelle Revis. The New York Giants had four players selected -- center Shaun O’Hara, guard Chris Snee, defensive end Justin Tuck and free safety Antrel Rolle.

Baltimore, Green Bay and Dallas had five players voted in yesterday. Buffalo, Cincinnati, Seattle and Tampa Bay had no players chosen.

Five first-time Pro Bowl selections were voted onto the NFC team, while 14 new names made the AFC. Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis was named to his 12th Pro Bowl team.

“Wow, No. 12 feels like No. 1,” Lewis said. “That never gets old.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Nancy Kercheval in Washington at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.