Kaymer, McDowell Are Co-Winners of European Golfer of Year Award

Dec. 7 (Bloomberg) -- Germany’s Martin Kaymer and Graeme McDowell of Northern Ireland were voted joint winners of the European tour Golfer of the Year award.

Kaymer, 25, won four times on the tour, taking his first major title with a playoff victory at the PGA Championship. McDowell, 31, won three times, and became the first European to win the U.S. Open in 40 years.

Both men were members of the European team that won the Ryder Cup this year.

It was the first time since the award began in 1985 that there were joint winners. A panel of golf reporters and editors vote for the award.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Chris Elser at celser@bloomberg.net