Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Clijsters Wins Tennis Player of the Year Award for Second Time

Kim Clijsters was voted women’s tennis Player of the Year for a second time, three months after she claimed the U.S. Open title for a third time.

The 27-year-old Belgian won the honor after successfully defending the U.S. Open title she won in 2009 a month after ending a 28-month retirement. Clijsters also claimed titles in Brisbane, Miami, Cincinnati and Doha this year.

“Its really nice to win the Player of the Year award just one year after making a comeback and while I didn’t think it would come so quickly, I am thrilled with the news,” Clijsters said in a statement.

Clijsters was also named player of the year in 2005, when she won her first U.S. Open title.

Gisela Dulko and Flavia Pennetta, the world’s No. 1 ranked team, were named Doubles Team of the Year. Petra Kvitova is the Newcomer of the Year after reaching her first Grand Slam semifinal at Wimbledon. Comeback Player of the Year is Justine Henin, who came out of retirement in January and reached the finals in Brisbane and the Australian Open.

The global tennis media determines the recipients.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.