HBO Leads Emmys With ‘Temple Grandin,’ Kevorkian Film

Claire Danes won an Emmy for HBO's
HBO won eight Emmy awards, the most of any network. Photographer: Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Time Warner Inc.’s HBO won eight Emmy awards, the most of any network, for its TV movie “Temple Grandin,” the miniseries “The Pacific” and a film about assisted suicide physician Jack Kevorkian.

AMC’s “Mad Men,” about the New York advertising industry in the 1960s, captured the award for best dramatic series during NBC’s live telecast of the 62nd prime-time Emmy awards last night at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles. “Modern Family” on Walt Disney Co.’s ABC won for best comedy.

Cable channels dominated the drama, TV movie and miniseries categories, while broadcasters won the most awards in comedy. “Temple Grandin,” about the achievements of an autistic woman, won five Emmys, including best picture. Also on HBO, the World War II drama “The Pacific” won for best miniseries and Al Pacino was voted best actor in a TV movie for playing Kevorkian in “You Don’t Know Jack.”

“There is no economic model that says you should put on a 10-part miniseries and make cash on it,” actor Tom Hanks, a co-producer of “The Pacific,” said of HBO during his acceptance speech. “Yet somehow they had faith in us.”

Julia Ormond and David Strathairn won Emmys for playing supporting characters in “Temple Grandin,” while Claire Danes won for her lead role as the namesake character. Adam Mazer won for writing “You Don’t Know Jack.”

“What they are doing on cable and HBO is very interesting,” Pacino told reporters backstage. “You couldn’t get a movie like this made otherwise.”

Nielsen Ratings

The Emmy telecast, hosted by Jimmy Fallon, was broadcast live for the first time in more than 30 years and drew its largest audience since 2006, according to preliminary Nielsen Co. data released by NBC. The three-hour telecast attracted an estimated 13.5 million viewers, an increase of 0.2 percent from last year’s preliminary data, the network said.

Including awards handed out ahead of the telecast, “Glee” won four Emmys for News Corp.’s Fox network and ABC’s “Modern Family” picked up six, as the two first-season comedies led broadcast networks to dominate the genre.

Comedy Emmys went to “Modern Family” supporting actor Eric Stonestreet and “Glee” supporting actress Jane Lynch. Edie Falco won the only comedy Emmy for a cable outlet for her role in Showtime’s “Nurse Jackie,” while Jim Parsons captured an Emmy for best comedy actor for his role in CBS’s “The Big Bang Theory.”

‘Modern Family’

“Modern Family,” a satirical look at the complicated nature of families today, won for writers Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd, while the comedy directing award went to Ryan Murphy of “Glee,” a series about a high-school singing troupe.

“I don’t think ‘Modern Family’ would work on a cable network,” Levitan, a co-creator of the show, told reporters. “Somehow we have figured out how to do this in a way that appeals to everyone.”

In dramatic series, cable shows dominated, with only CBS’s “The Good Wife” preventing a sweep of the genre for pay- television channels.

Bryan Cranston won for lead actor in a drama for his role in “Breaking Bad” on AMC, owned by Cablevision Systems Corp. and Kyra Sedgwick won for her lead role in “The Closer” on Time Warner’s TNT. Aaron Paul won the best-supporting award for his role in “Breaking Bad,” while Archie Panjabi won in the category for her role in “The Good Wife.”

In addition to its third-straight win for dramatic series, “Mad Men” won a writing award for creator Matthew Weiner and Erin Levy. Steve Shill won the directing award for “Dexter,” the series about a serial killer on CBS’s Showtime channel.

“Top Chef,” on NBC Universal’s Bravo channel, was voted best reality program, ending a seven-year run for “The Amazing Race” on CBS. And Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” took the Emmy for best variety, music or comedy series, its eighth straight win.

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which awards the Emmys, gave George Clooney the “Bob Hope Humanitarian” award.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE