Bloomberg Anywhere Remote Login Bloomberg Terminal Demo Request


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Bloomberg Customers

Five Lawmakers to Contest U.K. Labour Leadership Race

Five lawmakers will run for the leadership of the U.K. Labour Party after each winning 33 or more nominations from fellow members in the House of Commons.

Diane Abbott will join former Cabinet ministers Ed Balls, Andy Burnham and brothers David and Ed Miliband in the contest to replace Gordon Brown, the party said in an e-mailed statement today. Brown triggered the leadership vote when he resigned after Labour lost the May 6 election.

A sixth candidate, John McDonnell, pulled out this morning in order to help Abbott win enough nominations to run, he said in an e-mailed statement. The result of a ballot of party members will be announced on Sept. 25, the eve of Labour’s annual party conference.

“Over the next few months over 4 million people will have the chance to help shape Britain’s progressive future by choosing the next leader of the Labour Party,” acting party leader Harriet Harman said in the statement. “The contest will be open engaging and energizing.”

Harman nominated Abbott, as did David Miliband, who said he wanted an open contest and a wide debate before the ballot. Abbott, 56, became Britain’s first black woman lawmaker in 1987.

Nominations for the leadership race closed today. Under party rules, prospective candidates needed the backing of 12.5 percent of the Labour lawmakers in the Commons, the lower chamber of Parliament.

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.