Bloomberg the Company & Products

Bloomberg Anywhere Login


Connecting decision makers to a dynamic network of information, people and ideas, Bloomberg quickly and accurately delivers business and financial information, news and insight around the world.


Financial Products

Enterprise Products


Customer Support

  • Americas

    +1 212 318 2000

  • Europe, Middle East, & Africa

    +44 20 7330 7500

  • Asia Pacific

    +65 6212 1000


Industry Products

Media Services

Follow Us

Dwight Howard, Rajon Rondo Lead NBA’s All-Defensive First Team

May 5 (Bloomberg) -- Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard led the voting for the National Basketball Association’s All-Defensive first team, joining Rajon Rondo, LeBron James, Kobe Bryant and Gerald Wallace.

Howard, who won the Defensive Player of the Year Award on April 20, earned 57 points and 28 first-team votes in balloting by the league’s 30 head coaches, the NBA said in a news release.

Rondo, a Boston Celtics guard, was second with 50 points, followed by the Cleveland Cavaliers’ James (45 points), the Los Angeles Lakers’ Bryant (34 points) and the Charlotte Bobcats’ Wallace (30 points).

Bryant has been named to the All-Defensive first team eight times and the second team twice. Duncan has been on the first or second teams for 13 consecutive seasons.

The second team was made up of the San Antonio Spurs center Tim Duncan, Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade, Atlanta Hawks forward Josh Smith, Cleveland forward Anderson Varejao and Oklahoma City Thunder guard Thabo Sefolosha.

Howard this season became the first player to lead the NBA in rebounding and blocks in consecutive campaigns since the league began keeping blocks as an official statistic in 1973-74. He averaged 13.2 rebounds and 2.78 blocks per game.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mason Levinson in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at

Please upgrade your Browser

Your browser is out-of-date. Please download one of these excellent browsers:

Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.