Chennai Beats Mumbai by 22 Runs in Indian Premier League Final

Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in the final of cricket’s Indian Premier League today to become the third different champion in three years.

Suresh Raina cracked an unbeaten 57 as Chennai made 168-5 from its 20 overs in Mumbai after captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat first. Mumbai finished on 146-9.

“Suresh was special,” Chennai’s Muttiah Muralitharan said in televised comments after the game. “It’s a special occasion for Chennai and we’re going to be partying today.”

Rajasthan won the inaugural tournament in 2008, beating Chennai in the final, while the Deccan Chargers took last year’s title.

Raina’s 35-ball innings today included three sixes and three fours as he flayed the opposition attack. He shared a 72-run partnership with Dhoni, who scored 22, for the fourth wicket.

Mumbai lost the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan in only the second over of its reply before captain Sachin Tendulkar helped the team recover with 48 from 45 balls.

Mumbai was struggling again at 114-6 when Kieron Pollard came to the crease, with his 27 from only 10 balls creating the chance of a victory.

That chance was ended when Ambati Rayudu was run out in the penultimate over, with Pollard caught by Matthew Hayden next ball.

Before it's here, it's on the Bloomberg Terminal. LEARN MORE