Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot Wins Boston Marathon in Record Time

April 19 (Bloomberg) -- Kenya’s Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot won the 114th edition of the Boston Marathon in record time, while Ethiopia’s Teyba Erkesso held off a late challenge to claim the women’s race.

Cheruiyot, 21, outran defending champion Deriba Merga of Ethopia after the two broke away from the lead pack, winning the 26.2-mile (42.2-kilometer) race from Hopkinton, Massachusetts, to Boston in two hours, five minutes, fifty-two seconds. The effort broke the record of four-time champion Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot, who did not participate in today’s race. The previous record, set in 2006, was 2:07:14.

“I wanted to show my talent,” Cheruiyot said in a televised interview.

Ethiopian Tekeste Kebede passed Merga to finish second at 2:07:23, followed by Merga at 2:08:39.

Erkesso, 27, finished in 2:26:11, three seconds ahead of Russia’s Tatyana Pushkareva, whose comeback from a deficit of more than a minute fell just short. Kenya’s Salina Kosgei, the defending champion, finished third at 2:28:35.

Erkesso separated from her nearest competitor with about 11 miles remaining and ran much of the remaining race without a competitor in sight before Pushkareva mounted a response after Mile 22.

Ryan Hall was the top American in the men’s race, finishing fourth at 2:08:41, the fastest ever for an American, followed by countryman Meb Keflezighi, the reigning New York City Marathon champion, in fifth at 2:09:26.

No U.S. runner has won the Boston Marathon since Lisa Larsen Weidenbach won the women’s race in 1985. Americans haven’t taken both the men’s and women’s divisions since 1983, when Greg Meyer was the last U.S. male champion.

South African Ernst Van Dyk, 37, narrowly won the push rim wheelchair race over Franz Nietlispach for his ninth victory in Boston, a record. Japan’s Wakako Tsuchida won the women’s push rim race.

The field of 26,776 runners included a record 11,324 women, organizers said. About 500 runners may have been unable to get to Boston due to the Icelandic volcano that that’s disrupted air travel across Europe after erupting for the second time in four weeks on April 14.

To contact the reporter on this story: Mason Levinson in New York at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Michael Sillup at