Canada Widens Russia Sanctions to Banks and Energy Companies

Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper widened economic sanctions against Russia today to include a group of energy producers, banks and arms makers.

The Russian companies banned from Canadian contact include Almaz-Antey, Gazprombank OAO, Kalashnikov Concern, Novatek and Vnesheconombank, according to a statement from Harper’s office today from Ottawa.

“As we have seen with the downing of Malaysian Airlines flight MH17 last week, the Putin regime’s failure to end its support to armed separatist groups constitutes a very real threat to international peace and security,” Harper said in the statement. He also cited “ the Putin regime’s illegal occupation of Ukraine’s Crimean region, and its persistent, provocative military activity targeting parts of eastern Ukraine.”

Travel bans will also apply to several Ukrainians linked to the separatist government in the disputed region, including deputy prime minister Vladimir Antyufeyev.

To contact the reporter on this story: Greg Quinn in Ottawa at

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Chris Fournier at

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.