Pittsburgh Pirates’ Hurdle Voted National League Manager of Year

Clint Hurdle won his first National League Manager of the Year award by leading the Pittsburgh Pirates into the baseball playoffs for the first time since 1992.

The Pirates went 94-68 this year, ending a streak of 20 straight losing seasons, and won the NL wild-card playoff game against the Cincinnati Reds before losing a five-game divisional series against the St. Louis Cardinals.

The other finalists in voting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America were Fredi Gonzalez of the Atlanta Braves and Don Mattingly of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

The American League Manager of the Year will be announced later today. The finalists are John Farrell of the World Series-winning Boston Red Sox, Terry Francona of the Cleveland Indians and Bob Melvin of the Oakland Athletics.

The rest of Major League Baseball’s big awards -- Most Valuable Player and the Cy Young Award given to the top pitcher in each league -- will be given out later this week.

To contact the editor responsible for this story: Rob Gloster at rgloster@bloomberg.net

Press spacebar to pause and continue. Press esc to stop.

Bloomberg reserves the right to remove comments but is under no obligation to do so, or to explain individual moderation decisions.

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.